How and why I started my tech journey

How and why I started my tech journey

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

You can imagine how I was excited when I got to join my dream Bootcamp to start my journey in tech a reality. I have always wanted this and had spent sleepless nights thinking of how I was to achieve this. All through I had believed tech was my thing such that my lifestyle had already been taken over by this tech agility within me. From the way, I interacted with people, and the way I interacted with personal computers at home to the lot of time that I spent on my phone. You see, the fact that I didn't have the resources to get myself a laptop at a young age, I took my smartphone as an alternative for all.

Then there is a particular time that my elder brother joined campus and obviously, he had to be handed over a laptop to facilitate his studies...and I really admired him. All I imagined is me possessing the same laptop that he did...doing my little shit there. By the time I was in high school, the only thing I would think of is getting to learn computer studies at least to broaden my knowledge and moreso to satisfy my hunger for 'the small machines'.I remember back in 2014 the way I would follow my computer studies teacher to ask various questions out of my curiosity. And no wonder after all these I always received the best badges for the best student in computer studies. And by the time I was almost done with school, I was in charge of the computer lab which was the place students could go and do stuff like researching or simply have their free space with computers.

By the time I was now joining campus, I knew very well whatever my track would be. I was very excited to start my journey and sooner or later I would be associated with women in tech which is something I also really admired. Despite various claims and beliefs that this was a male-dominated field and hence ladies had very minimal chances, I still decided to go ahead and dip my foot into it. I had been brought up in a family of five elders with me being the only daughter and from my experience around them, I understood that there was nothing really that they did that I was not capable of doing. And this was a stepping stone toward my long-term goal to be a software developer.

That's how I joined the cooperative university of Kenya to study for courses in business information and technology. You see, I have always thought of how we can come to incorporate business and technology altogether. I was really excited about learning all these. Then the worst happened and covid-19 came into existence. Schools had to be closed and students had to return back to their homes. Things changed to abnormality and new normalcy had to be taken in. I remember crying myself to sleep wondering what was in store for me. Until I backed up to do something with my passions for leadership, business, and technology. This is the period where a joined a mentorship program called 'Leap Girl Africa' where I developed my leadership skills. Then there was the Teen's world program which was an initiative to make teens understand the basics of the computer field. In this program, I learned the basics of various programming languages and also grew my interest in graphic designing. During this period Youtube was a very important resource in my whole journey. I simply loved the experience of exploring even more.

In my pursuit of exploration and adventures, I won a scholarship in my dream Bootcamp to study software development. You imagine I now saw that my dreams had come to reality. And I did not hesitate to join and do my very best. I promised myself I would be the best. Right now am two months close to the end of the course and all I can say is thanks to God who've been with me all through. I wanna do my best for myself and be among the best in this field. My goal is also to create an impact through my leadership skills and also incorporate more ladies into it.

Last words: Never allow the failure of the present to stop you from achieving what lies ahead. The initial deficiency I had didn’t slow me down in achieving success and forging ahead, your failure should strengthen you in finding your purpose in life rather than discourage you.